Designed by John Wood the Younger, the tiny church of All Saints in Woolley is an 18th century gem. It was built on the site of an earlier chapel in 1761 and paid for by Mrs Elizabeth Parkin, the owner of the nearby gunpowder factory. The church is open during the day and there is a footpath across the valley from Swainswick. As well as the churchyard, where Admiral Puget is buried, there is a lovely church garden to sit in. Occasional Services are held here to celebrate Christmas, Easter and other high days and holidays.
The church is the only communal space in the village and is used for occasional concerts and other events. It’s looked after by villagers and the Friends of Woolley Church. Woolley is one of only 14 Doubly Thankful Villages Britain – so named because all 13 young men who were sent to the First World War and 13 in the second returned home. There are plaques giving thanks in the church and a memorial in the garden.